Bald Eagles

Here are the DII softball programs with the most national championships

Here are the DII softball programs with the most national championships

Since Sam Houston State defeated Cal State Northridge in 1982 for the first DII softball championship, 39 other national champions have been crowned. Rogers State was No. 39, winning the 2022 national championship in dominant fashion and claiming the program’s first national title. Surprisingly, the exclusive club of multiple winners is very small, but welcomed its newest member on June 1, 2021.

2022 RECAP: Rogers State takes it all to claim first DII softball title

West Texas A&M beat Biola in the 2021 DII Softball National Championship Series, winning their second title after winning their first in 2014. Augustana (SD), was the winner in 2019 and that victory also entered the Vikings into this club exclusive. The last school to win their second championship before the Vikings was Lock Haven in the 2009 season.

Let’s take a look at the programs with the most DII softball championships.

4—CSUN (1983-85, 1987)

Head coach Gary Torgeson’s Matadors owned the CCAA and pretty much DII softball for most of the 1980s. They won the CCAA in each of their nine seasons as a member and have won four DII titles along the way. CSUN appeared in the first six DII Softball Championship Series, winning three straight after losing the inaugural title game to Sam Houston State.

3 – Bakersfield California State (1988-90)

California certainly had a monopoly on DII softball in the early years of its history. After CSUN’s history at the top ended, the Roadrunners took over. CSU Bakersfield has won three titles, all in a row under head coach Kathy Welter. It beat CSUN 6-2 in 1990 for its last DII title in a showdown of softball superpowers.

2 — Five tied

NCAA Pictures
Humboldt State has two DII softball titles.

West Texas A&M is the newest member as the Lady Buffs have now won two titles in the past seven seasons. augustan won his second title in 2019, waiting 28 years to do so, the longest span of any DII softball multiple-time winner. After the Roadrunners race ended, we saw four new winners in a row. Then a pair of consecutive champions changed the landscape of DII softball. Kennesaw State won in 1995 and 1996 followed by California (Pennsylvania) in 1997 and 1998. Humboldt State followed the Vulcans in 1999 and would win their second title in 2008, the longest streak between DII softball championships before the 2019 Vikings. If anyone can call themselves the DII softball power of the 2000s, it’s lockdown haven. The Bald Eagles were the first team to win multiple championships this century and nearly won a third, losing by one to SIU Edwardsville in the 2007 championship.

Here is a complete list of all DII Softball National Champions:

2022 Rogers State (58-10) Andrea Vaughn 6-1 Cal State Dom. Hills Denver, Colorado.
2021 West Texas A&M (43-12) Michael Mook 4-1 Biola Denver, Colorado.
2020 Canceled due to COVID-19 N / A N / A N / A N / A
2019 *Augustana (SD) (61-11) Gretta Melsted 6-4 Texas A&M-Kingsville Denver, Colorado.
2018 *Southern Indiana (40-23) Sue Kunkle 8-3 Saint Anselm Salem, Virginia.
2017 *Minnesota State (64-7) Lori Meyer 5-1 Angelo State Salem, Virginia.
2016 North Alabama (60-7) Ashley Cozart 4-1 Humboldt State denver
2015 North Georgia (54-8) Mike Davenport 5-0 Dixie State Oklahoma City
2014 *West Texas A&M (60-7) Kevin Blaskowski 3-2 State of Valdosta Salem, Virginia.
2013 *Central Oklahoma (51-11) Genny Stidham 5-2 Kutztown Salem, Virginia.
2012 Valdosta State (58-5) Thomas Macera 4-1 University of San Diego Louisville, Ky.
2011 University of San Diego Patti Gerckens 10-3 Alabama-Huntsville Salem, Virginia.
2010 *Hawaii Pacific (50-8) Bryan Nakason 4-3 State of Valdosta Saint Joseph, Mo.
2009 Lock Haven (51-6) Kelly Green 8-0 Alabama-Huntsville Salem, Virginia.
2008 *Humboldt State (57-18) Frank Cheek 1-0 Emporia State Houston
2007 *SEU Edwardsville (49-8) Sandy Montgomery 3-2 lockdown haven Akron, Ohio
2006 *Refuge de l’écluse (56-4) Kelly Green 3-0 Emporia State Salem, Virginia.
2005 * *Lynn (54-7) Thomas Macera 5-3 Kennesaw State Salem, Virginia.
2004 Angelo State (47-11 Travis Scott 7-3 South Florida Altamonte Springs, Florida.
2003 *UC Davis (53-15) Kathy DeYoung 7-0 College of Georgia Salem, Oregon.
2002 St. Mary (Texas) (58-11) Donna Fields 4-0 great valley state Salem, Virginia.
2001 Nebraska-Omaha (54-6) Jeanne Totensson 4-0 lewis Salem, Virginia.
2000 North Dakota State (68-10) Mitch Hanson 3-1 Kennesaw State Columbus, Ga.
1999 Humboldt State (55-7-1) Frank Cheek 7-2 Nebraska-Kearney Salem, Virginia.
1998 California (Pennsylvania) (49-7) Rick Bertagnoli 2-1 barry Pensacola, Florida.
1997 *California (Pennsylvania) (53-5) Rick Bertagnoli 2-1 Wisconsin–Parkside Salem, Virginia.
1996 Kennesaw State (49-8) Scott Whitlock 6-4 Nebraska-Omaha Emporia, Kan.
1995 Kennesaw State (53-5) Scott Whitlock 3-2 Bloomsburg Salem, Virginia.
1994 Merrimac (45-4) Michele Myslinski 6-2 Humboldt State Shawnee, Kan.
1993 South Florida (45-11) Chris Bellotto 11-5 Augustane (SD) Shawnee, Kan.
1992 Southern Missouri State (50-7) Pat Lipira 1-0 Cal State East Bay Shawnee, Kan.
1991 *Augustana (SD) (61-4-1) Sandy Jerstad 3-2 Bloomsburg Midland, Mich.
1990 California State Bakersfield (44-11) Kathy Welter 6-2 State of California Northridge Midland, Mich.
1989 California State Bakersfield (38-23) Kathy Welter 8-5 Sacramento State Sacramento, California.
1988 State of California Bakersfield (54-9-1) Kathy Welter 4-3 lockdown haven Sacramento, California.
1987 California State Northridge (58-7) Gary Torgeson 4-0 South Florida Quincy, Ill.
1986 *Stephen F. Austin (38-15-1) Diane Baker 1-0 State of California Northridge Akron, Ohio
1985 *California Northridge State (62-19) Gary Torgeson 2-1 Akron Northridge, California.
1984 *State of California Northridge (51-12-2) Gary Torgeson 1-0 Akron Sioux Falls, SD
1983 *State of California Northridge (35-20-2) Gary Torgeson 1-0 Sam Houston State Orange, California.
1982 Sam Houston State (40-6) Wayne Daigle 3-2 State of California Northridge Stratford, Conn.

*Indicates undefeated teams in the final series

**Lynn’s participation in the 2005 tournament canceled by the NCAA Committee on Infractions.

** Lynn’s participation in the 2005 tournament canceled by the NCAA Committee on Infractions.

Dan Hodge Trophy: history, winners and how it works

This is the story of the Dan Hodge Trophy, named after one of the greatest of all time and awarded annually to the top college wrestler since 1985.


DII Men’s Basketball Programs with the Most NCAA DII National Championships

Here are the DII men’s basketball programs that have won multiple national championships.